

60 Forrest Avenue, Rumson NJ 07760 732. 732.842.4747/Fax 732.842.4877

Organization Meeting Minutes

Date: Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Location: Higgins Library, Forrestdale School

1. Call to order

The meeting was called to order by the Board Secretary at 6:30 p.m., in the Higgins Library of the Forrestdale School, Rumson, New Jersey

2. Pledge of Allegiance

3. Notice of Meeting

Announcement of this meeting has been sent to the Asbury Park Press and the Two River Times and an agenda has been posted in the Deane-Porter and Forrestdale Schools, Rumson Borough Hall and the Oceanic Library.

4. Annual Election results held on November 7, 2017

Three-year term:

- Mrs. Maura Beyer 1,247 votes - Mrs. Kara Ann Markiewicz 1,190 votes - Mrs. Kim Swain 1,301 votes

5,632 Registered Voters 2,323 Ballots cast

5. Oath of Office to new members (administered by the Board Attorney)

- Maura Beyer
- Kara Ann Markiewicz
- Kim Swain (Absent)

6. Roll Call

Mrs. Beyer Present Dr. Connors Present Mrs. Melia Present
Mr. Binns Present Dr. Jones Present Mrs. Simons Present

Mr. Caldwell Present Mrs. Markiewicz Present Mrs. Swain Absent - arrived @ 6:50pm Others Present: Dr. John E. Bormann, Superintendent; Debra Allen, School Business Administrator/Board Secretary; Anthony

Sciarrillo, School Board Attorney and the public.

7. Election of President

MOTION for nominations for the Office of President:

Motion by: Russell Binns Nominee: Dr. Charles Jones Seconded by: Margaret Simons

MOTION to close nomination:

Motion by: Russell Binns Seconded by: Elaine Melia Nominee: Dr. Charles Jones

Vote for **President:** AYES: 8

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that in accordance with NJSA 18A:15-1 and Board Policy the Board of Education of the Borough of Rumson elects Dr. Charles Jones, as President effective January 3, 2018 for a term prescribed by law.

The Board Secretary turnedover the meeting to the President.

8. Election of Vice President

MOTION for nominations for the Office of Vice President:

Motion by: Margaret Simons Nominee: Elaine Melia Seconded by: Russell Binns

MOTION to **close nomination**:

Motion by: Margaret Simons Nominee: Elaine Melia Seconded by: Russell Binns

Vote for Vice President: AYES: 8

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that in accordance with NJSA 18A:15-1 and Board Policy the Board of Education of the Borough of Rumson elects Elaine Melia, as Vice President effective January 3, 2018 for a term prescribed by law.

9. Welcome of Visitors

10. Correspondence

To accept the following correspondence:

From: Lori Pomphrey Re: Thank You

11. <u>Ethics Training</u> - Ethics Training for Board Members by Sciarrillo, Cornell, Merlino, McKeever & Osborne, LLC

12. Organization Items

The Board approved the following organization items (a-f), upon the recommendation of the Superintendent for 2018:

Moved: Mr. Binns Seconded: Mr. Caldwell

Roll Call: AYES: 9

a. Official Statement of Results

The Board approved having the *certified statement of results* of the November 7, 2017 School Election made part of the reorganization meeting minutes.

b. Depositories and Signatures

The Board approved the following depositories for 2018, contingent upon receipt of Political Contribution Disclosure Form:

TD Bank

1st Constitution Bank

New Jersey Cash Management

Authorization to Sign Warrants

To approve the following signatures for district bank accounts:

Warrant Board President

Business Administrator

Unemployment Business Administrator Agency Business Administrator Cafeteria Business Administrator

Secretary to Business Administrator

1/03/18 Agenda - Page 2 of 4

Secretary to Business Administrator

Payroll Business Administrator
Petty Cash Superintendent of Schools

Secretary to Supt. of Schools Business Administrator

Student Activities Forrestdale Principal & Business Administrator

Student Activities Deane-Porter Principal

Secretary to the Principal

c. Appointments

1. Official Newspapers

The Board approved designating the Asbury Park Press and the Two River Times as the official newspapers for publications, advertisements and legal notices.

2. School Safety Specialist

The Board approved appointing Dr. John E. Bormann as the School Safety Specialist and approval of participantion in the School Safety Specialists Certification programs per NJAC 6A:9-2.1

d. 2018 Board Meeting Dates

The Board approved the schedule of Board of Education meeting dates for 2018 as follows:

Wednesday, January 24, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, February 28, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, March 21, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, April 25, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, May 23, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, June 13, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, July 25, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, August 22, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, November 14, 2018	7:30 pm
Wednesday, December 19, 2018	7:30 pm

e. Reaffirmation of Board Policies and Regulations

The Board approved to adopt and reaffirm the policies, bylaws, and procedures and amendments thereto of the Rumson Board of Education heretofore adopted by previous Boards, as written in the Minutes of prior meetings.

f. 18-19 School Calendar

The Board approved the 18-19 School Calendar.

13. Committee Assignments

RECOMMENDATION

Motion to approve the following committee assignments:

•	Education Committee	S. Caldwell, Chair (M. Beyer, K. Swain, C. Jones)
•	Finance & Facilities Committee	M. Simons, Chair (S. Caldwell, R. Binns, C.Jones)
•	Personnel Committee	E. Melia, Chair (M. Beyer, M. Simons, C. Jones)
•	Planning/Communications Committee	K. Swain, Chair (J. Connors, K. Markiewicz, C. Jones)
•	Policy Committee	J. Connors, Chair (K. Markiewicz, R. Binns, C. Jones)
•	REF Liason	S. Caldwell
•	PTO Liason	M. Beyer
•	NJSBA/Garden State Coalition	M. Beyer

Moved: M. Beyer Seconded: K. Swain

Roll Call: AYES: 9

14. Communications

To permit the fair and orderly expression of comments, on agenda items, we ask for the public to:

- Wait to be recognized
- Preface comments with your name and address
- Direct all comments to the presiding officer
- Discuss only concerns that have been previously addressed through proper administrative channels
- Refrain from using any pupil or staff member's name

15. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:10 p.m. Moved: K. Swain Seconded: M. Beyer All in favor: AYES: 9

Respectfully submitted by,			
Debra Allen, SBA/BS			